DFA Members Extend Leadership to Industry Organizations

January 5, 2011

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Dairy Farmers of America, Inc. (DFA) is proud to acknowledge numerous DFA members who have earned leadership positions with prominent dairy industry organizations, including Dairy Management Inc. (DMI), American Dairy Association (ADA) and National Dairy Council (NDC); the National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB); and the United Dairy Industry Association (UDIA).

“Farmer leaders play an important role in shaping the future of the dairy industry,” said Randy Mooney, chairman of DFA’s Board of Directors. “It is truly rewarding to see dairy farmers who have established themselves as leaders within DFA extend that leadership and commitment to other areas of the industry, as well.”

Among the DFA members recently elected to leadership positions are:

Ryan Anglin of Bentonville, Ark. – NDB Chairman
Paul Broering of St. Henry, Ohio – UDIA Second Vice Chair Member Relations
Steve Frischknecht of Manti, Utah – UDIA Secretary
Les Hardesty of Greeley, Colo. – UDIA Second Vice Chair and NDC Chairman
Jerrel Heatwole of Greenwood, Del. – ADA Vice Chairman
Neil Hoff of Windthorst, Texas – UDIA First Vice Chair
Paula Meabon of Wattsburg, Pa. – DMI Secretary
Allen Merrill of Parker, S.D. – UDIA Treasurer
Lynn Ramsey of Emory, Texas – NDC Treasurer
Bill Siebenborn of Trenton, Mo. – UDIA Chairman
Billy Travis of Princeton, Ky. – UDIA Second Vice Chair and ADA Chairman

Two members of Dairylea Cooperative, which is a member cooperative of DFA, also were elected as officers:

Joan Smith of Sauquoit, N.Y. – NDC Secretary
Sandy Stauffer of Nicholville, N.Y. – DMI Treasurer

In addition, several DFA members have been newly appointed to the NDB Board by Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. They include:

David Crowl of Street, Md. – Region 11
Douglas Krickenbarger of West Alexandria, Ohio – Region 9
Steven Hanson of Clovis, N.M. – Region 4
Jeffrey Hardy of Brigham City, Utah – Region 3

Stauffer, who represents Dairylea on the DFA Board of Directors, also was appointed and represents Region 12.